Workshops

Student Workshop Presentations

Landing an Internship Workshop Series
Are you ready for the next step? Discover strategies for identifying and securing an internship. Auto-Owners Insurance Company will co-present.

Wednesday, September 14 | Dunlap Success Center 2202 | 1:15 - 2:15 p.m.
Wednesday, October 12 | Dunlap Success Center 2202 | 1:15 - 2:15 p.m.
Wednesday, November 9 | Dunlap Success Center 2202 | 1:15 - 2:15 p.m.

FSUshadow Information Sessions

FSUshadow connects students with employers, community partners, alumni and friends of the university for one-day shadowing experiences to provide career exposure in a wide variety of fields and industries. Students who attend this information session will learn the steps to apply for FSUshadow, key dates and deadlines, and tips for a successful shadowing experience.

Thursday, October 13 | Dunlap Success Center 2208 | 6 - 7 p.m.
Wednesday, October 19 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 5 - 6 p.m.
Thursday, October 20 | Dunlap Success Center 1006 | 5 - 6 p.m.

Nole to ProfessioNole
A Professional Development Workshop Series

Resumes and Cover Letter Writing
Tuesday, September 6 | College of Engineering B202 | 2 - 3 p.m.
Monday, September 12 | Williams 013 | 4 - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, September 13 | Fine Arts Building 249 | 4 - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, September 13 | Bellamy 150 | 3 - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, September 14 | Dirac Science Library Instruction Lab | 5:15 - 6:15 p.m.
Thursday, September 15 | Starry Conference Room (RBB 214) | 2 - 3 p.m.
Thursday, October 6 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3 p.m.

Navigating Career Fairs
Tuesday, September 13 | College of Engineering B202 | 2 - 3 p.m.
Monday, September 19 | Williams 013 | 4 - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, September 20 | Fine Arts Building 249 | 4 - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, September 20 | Bellamy 150 | 11 a.m. - noon
Wednesday, September 21 | Dirac Science Library Instruction Lab | 5:15 - 6:15 p.m.
Thursday, September 22 | Starry Conference Room (RBB 214) | 5:15 - 6:15 p.m.
Thursday, September 22 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3 p.m.

Exploring Graduate School/Gap Year
Monday, October 3 | Williams 013 | 4 - 5 p.m.
Wednesday, October 5 | Dirac Science Library Instruction Lab | 5:15 - 6:15 p.m.
Tuesday, October 11 | College of Engineering B202 | 2 - 3 p.m.
Tuesday, October 11 | Fine Arts Building 249 | 4 - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, October 11 | Starry Conference Room (RBB 214) | 5:15 - 6:15 p.m.
Tuesday, October 11 | Bellamy 150 | 11 a.m. - noon
Thursday, October 13 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3 p.m.

Ace the Interview
Wednesday, October 5 | Starry Conference Room (RBB 214) | 2 - 3 p.m.
Monday, October 10 | Williams 013 | 4 -5 p.m.
Tuesday, October 18 | Fine Arts building 249 | 4 - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, October 18 | College of Engineering B202 | 2 - 3 p.m.
Tuesday, October 18 | Bellamy 150 | 11 a.m. - noon
Wednesday, October 26 | Dirac Science Library Instruction Lab | 5:15 - 6:15 p.m.

Job & Internship Search Strategies
Thursday, September 8 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3 p.m.

Negotiation 101
Thursday, October 20 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3 p.m.

1st Year on the Job
Thursday, October 27 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3 p.m.

Financial Goal Setting
Thursday, November 3 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3 p.m.

Pre-Law Workshops

Get Ready for the LSAT
Thursday, September 8 | William Johnston Building G060 | 4 - 5:30 p.m. 

Senior Law School Application Workshop
Wednesday, September 21 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2:30-4 p.m. 

Get Ready for the LSAT
Tuesday, October 4 | William Johnston Building G060 | 4 - 5:30 p.m. 

Writing a Personal Statement (For Graduate School and Scholarships
Thursday, October 13 | William Johnston Building G060 | 4 - 5:30 p.m. 

Resume Writing for Pre-Law Students
Wednesday, October 19 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. 

How to Get the BEST Letter of Recommendation
Thursday, November 3 | William Johnston Building G060 | 4 - 5:30 p.m. 

Junior/Senior Law School Application Workshop
Tuesday, November 8 | Dunlap Success Center 2201 | 2 - 3:30 p.m. 

Pizza and A Major

(Students: Please RSVP for pizza in SeminoleLink)

Self-Exploration | Tuesday, October 11 | 7 - 8 p.m.
Start your major and career decision-making journey! This workshop will help you determine how your current values, interests, and skills translate into a major and future career.

Major Exploration | Tuesday, October 18 | 7 - 8 p.m.
With the support of online resources and both academic and career advisors, let us help you understand how to research your options and explore the majors that match your values, interests, and skills. The search for your perfect major begins now!

Career Exploration | Tuesday, October 25 | 7 - 8 p.m.
Don’t know how your major matches potential occupations? Join us in our Career Center scavenger hunt to identify occupations that match your major – both the typical and non-traditional. Learn how you can make yourself more marketable to future employers!

Graduate Student Professional Development Series Workshops (Fall 2016)
(Provided in Collaboration with the Graduate School)

The Curriculum Vitae for an Academic Position (CV) [PFF/PIE]
Friday, September 9 | Honors, Scholars & Fellows House, Room 3009 | 3:30 p.m.
     Register

Navigating Social Media Purposely & Professionally [PFF/PFP/PIE]
Friday, September 16 | Honors, Scholars & Fellows House, Room 3009 | 3:30 p.m.
     Register

Interviewing for Positions Outside of Academia: How to Prepare
Thursday, October 6 | Honors, Scholars & Fellows House, Room 3009 | 3:30 p.m.
     Register

Negotiating Job Offers
Friday, October 21 | Honors, Scholars & Fellows House, Room 3009 | 3:30 p.m.
     Register

Similarities and Differences in the Job Campaign for Academia vs. Non-Academic Employment Settings [PFF/PFP/PIE]
Tuesday, November 15 | Honors, Scholars & Fellows House, Room 3009 | 3:30 p.m.
     Register